NAV Ens Vincent Calhoun

This is a Forum-Only Station. Do you have an inactive character that you want to write about? Is your character being transferred somewhere else, or fresh out of the Academy? This is where you write logs or start something creative with your fellow players either on Spacedock, orbiting Earth, or elsewhere in the STE universe.

Moderator: James Greenman

Cadet

NAV Ens Vincent Calhoun

Postby Wesley Cowan » Thu May 08, 2014 10:36 pm

First Assignment

Stardate 11405.08

Despite everything my father told me about Starfleet, it seems that I was not quite prepared. I figured that getting my assignment would take some time, seeing as I'm a fresh graduate, but no, the orders came down rather quickly.

Honestly, I'm glad. The Academy was beginning to fray nerves I didn't know I had.

Today, though, I hitched a ride on the USS Hooke over to the Bremen. As an Intrepid class ship, it is a beauty. I'm slightly disappointed, though. Despite being able to serve aboard a technological and engineering marvel, I was secretly hoping to be assigned to one of the Nova class. I've always had a soft spot for those.

With my father's stories bouncing around in my head, I knew today was going to be anything but smooth. I wasn't, however, expecting someone to be killed during my first day. After setting in the course towards the Episadi Cluster, someone discovered the body of... shit, what was his name? Whatever. Anyway, a body was found.

I was surprised when the CO asked me for my opinion. I didn't really have one, but I did say that I was worried. Which is true. Murder? Not what I wanted on my first day.

My father, if he was here, would have some sort of anecdote to give me, some story to tell. I miss him, but he understands. I don't want mother's death to completely ruin him. She died protecting me and my father. It was something she wanted to do, and I have come to realize that, years after the fact. At least he still has my sister for company.